Mu Alpha Theta Scholarships

Mu Alpha Theta

Mu Alpha Theta Scholarships

Since its founding in 1957 at the University of Oklahoma, Mu Alpha Theta has been committed to inspiring a keen interest in mathematics, developing strong scholarship in the subject, and promoting the enjoyment of mathematics in high school and two-year college students.  To celebrate our 60th anniversary, we are supporting 60 scholarships for outstanding Mu Alpha Theta members in 2017. Postmark deadline was March 1, 2017. Awardees will be contacted and announced on this website by 5pm CST on May 1, 2017. 

Mu Alpha Theta and our Educational Foundation will continue to award a number of $4,000 scholarships this year. Scholarship funds may be used within the first 18 months after the date the scholarship is awarded. Any graduating high school senior or two-year college student who is an active member of a current Mu Alpha Theta chapter is eligible. The nominee should be an outstanding mathematics student and should have shown loyalty and dedication to their Mu Alpha Theta chapter, enthusiastically participating in local projects with evidence of service in the area of mathematics. Each chapter may submit applications for up to two members. It is up to the chapter sponsor to determine what names to submit, if more than two students wish to apply.

Three $5,000 scholarships will be awarded to top scholarship candidates: the Mary Rhein Memorial Scholarship, the Sallie Scudder Memorial Scholarship, and the Paul R. Goodey Scholarship.

The Mary Rhein Memorial Scholarship
The Mary Rhein Memorial Scholarship was named to honor Mary Rhein, a mathematics teacher from Ohio who was active in the National Mu Alpha Theta organization for 22 years. Mary believed that Mu Alpha Theta gives students who excel in mathematics an identity and a place to belong. She always encouraged her members to act as ambassadors for Mu Alpha Theta and she viewed competition as a dynamic way for students to use math concepts learned in the classroom.

The Sallie Scudder Memorial Scholarship
The Sallie Scudder Memorial Scholarship, supported by the Berkeley Math Club of 2000 – 2001, was named to honor Sallie Scudder, who taught calculus and softball at Berkeley Preparatory School from 1996 to 2002. She returned to teach at her alma mater, H. B. Plant High School, until her death at the age of 36. She was passionate about making a difference in the lives of her students and had a positive influence on everyone around her.

The Paul R. Goodey Scholarship
The Paul R. Goodey Scholarship was established to honor the former secretary-treasurer of Mu Alpha Theta who served from 2001-2014. Dr. Goodey, a University of Oklahoma George Lynn Cross mathematics professor, has always encouraged students to see the beauty and power of mathematics through research. The Paul R. Goodey Scholarship recipient is a student who has participated in a mathematics-related research project while a member of Mu Alpha Theta.

Kalin Award Option
Please mark the box at the bottom of the sponsor letter of recommendation form if the student applying for a scholarship is the sponsor's choice for the Kalin Award. The sponsor should include additional paragraphs as to why they feel the applicant deserves this award. Kalin Award finalists must attend and participate in the complete national convention with their attending chapter in the year the award is given. For more details about this award click here

High school members can download their application here.

Two-year college members can download their application here.

Both high school and two-year college students are required to submit their high school transcripts. Two-year college students must also submit their college transcripts.

Click here to view a list of scholarship recipients.