Structure of Mu Alpha Theta

Mu Alpha Theta

Structure of Mu Alpha Theta

Mu Alpha Theta is comprised of more than 2,400 chapters at schools across the country and the world. Every individual member of Mu Alpha Theta must belong to one of these chapters. Chapters are separated into four regions:


Regional Changes

In August 2010, Mu Alpha Theta re-aligned two of its four regions to better balance the number of chapters and the number of members in Regions 3 and 4. Regions 1 and 2 remained the same. Most of our members now reside in Regions 3 and 4.  In October of 2016, the chapters of Mu Alpha Theta voted to add Mexico, South Asia, and Central America to Region 2 and to add West Virginia to Region 4.

The new regions are outlined below:

  • Region 1
    Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington, Wisconsin, Wyoming, Canada, the Far East, the Pacific Islands, and Western Europe
  • Region 2
    Arkansas, Louisiana, Oklahoma, Texas, South America, Central America, Mexico, South Asia, and the Middle East
  • Region 3
    Alabama, Connecticut, Indiana, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Vermont, and Eastern Europe
  • Region 4
    Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Maryland, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Virginia, West Virginia, the Caribbean, Puerto Rico, and Africa

Some states have state Mu Alpha Theta organizations which host state and regional activities for their members. At present, Florida, Mississippi, Tennessee, and Louisiana have state organizations.