Historical Picture Gallery

Mu Alpha Theta

Historical Picture Gallery

Misc. Historical Pictures

Governing Council 2002
From left to right:  Stan Eliason, Carol Mcgill, Gwen Snoddy, Diane Rubin
Debbie Phillips, Joyce Becker, Frank Caballero, Jim Aiu, Pam Drummond

Sister Scholastica

Dr. Harold Huneke:

Dr. Huneke was born in 1917 in Arnett, OK.  He graduated from what was then called Northwestern State Teachers College in 1936 and came to the University of Oklahoma to do graduate work in 1939, receiving his degree in mathematics in 1941. Dr. Huneke served in the military during World War II and earned his Ph. D. in 1957.  In 1960, he returned to teach at the University of Oklahoma, where he directed several summer institute programs for mathematics teachers before going to New Delhi, India with the National Science Foundation from 1969 -1971.  He returned to teach at OU and served as the Secretary-Treasurer of Mu Alpha Theta from 1972 until 1984. Due to his dedication to the organization, Mu Alpha Theta grew to 1,000 chapters with over 30,000 active members. During his tenure at OU, he received several teaching awards, including being named the David Ross Boyd Professor of Mathematics and Education, one of the highest honors at the university. Numerous teaching awards are still given in his name, both at OU and in Mu Alpha Theta.  He passed away in 2001.

Leonard Rubin and Stan Eliason

Back to top

2006 National Convention Fort Collins, CO

  • Mystery Test
    Mystery Test
  • Trophies for Second Award Ceremony
  • Trophies for Second Award CeremonyMattie White: 2006 Sister Scholastica Award Winner
  • Sponsor Recognition
Back to top

USMAO Awards Ceremonies 2006

Back to top

2007 National Convention Tampa,Fl

    • Mattie White, Governor of Region 2; Dr. Mary Ann Gavioli, Governor of Region 4; Elizabeth Carol Botzner, NCTM Representative; Gaylen Todd Taylor, Governor Region 3From left to right: Mattie White, Governor of Region 2 Dr. Mary Ann Gavioli, Governor of Region 4 Elizabeth Carol Botzner, NCTM Representative Todd Taylor, Governor Region 3

    • From left to right: Mary Emma Bunch, President
      Grace Mutz, President-Elect
      Kathy Mowers, AMATYC Representative

    • From left to right:  Dr. Paul R. Goodey, Secretary-Treasurer
      Robert Vallin, MAA Substitute Representative

    • Pictured:  Dr. Terry Herdman, SIAM Representative
      Missing:  Dr. Tom Tosch, Governor Region 1

    • 50th Anniversary Celebration 2007 Tampa National Convention

    • 50th Anniversary Quilt made by Miami Springs Senior High School Chapter

    • Students square dancing at the 2007 National Convention Mixer

    • Lined up and awaiting the awarding of trophies.  Frank Caballero at the microphone and Dave Macfarlane, Palm Harbor University High School, by the screen.

Back to top

2012 & 2014 International Science Fair

2012 International Science Fair Award Winners with Dr.James R. Bush
2014 International Science Fair Award Winners with Tom Tosch

Back to top